The Steering Committee:

  • oversees the activity of the platform and the working groups according to the decisions and plan agreed during the Annual conference.
  • proposes and decides on new actions and initiatives
  • nominates the ACCELERATE chair among its members.
  • nominates the working group leaders
  • acts as the Scientific Programme Committee of the Annual Conference

The Steering Committee is composed of:

  • Four representatives from academia
  • Four representatives from advocacy
  • Four representatives from industry
  • Four representatives from regulatory bodies
  • AQ maximum of three 3 in tuitu personae members
  • The ITCC president

Members are nominated for 2 years, renewable.

The Project Management Team:

  • oversees the day-to-day activity of the platform and the implementation of work by the working groups
  • reports to the Steering Committee

The Project Management Team is composed of:

  • All the working group leaders
  • The ACCELERATE Chair

The Working Groups:

  • define and carry out the objectives, deliverables and milestones approved by the Steering Committee
  • are composed of members from the four stakeholders. Representatives from other stakeholders may be invited to join on an ad hoc basis.
  • There are two leaders (2 different stakeholders) for each working group who report to the Steering committee and the Annual Conference.

The Annual Conference:

  • is attended by members of the platform and anyone interested in the field of development of new oncology drugs for children and adolescents.
  • is an international scientific conference and a forum for discussion where all topics in the field are addressed.
  • defines and validates the work plan of the platform for the following year.
  • The Steering Committee and the Working Groups report on the activity of the platform and progresses made at the annual conference.
  • is co-organised by SIOPE and ITCC


As of April 2020, the ACCELERATE Steering Committee members are:


Gilles Vassal ACCELERATE Chair, ITCC Director, SIOP Europe Past President


Samira Essiaf SIOP Europe Chief Executive Officer


Andy Pearson  ITCC, Retired Royal Marsden Hospital and Instiute of Cancer Research
Pamela Kearns University of Birmingham, SIOP Europe President –Elect, ITCC
Steven DuBois Director, Experimental Therapeutics; Dana-Farber / Boston Children’s Cancer and Blood Disorders Center
Lynley Marshall MB BCh, DCH, MRCPCH, PhD, The Royal Marsden & The Institute of Cancer Research

Patient Advocates

Susan Weiner Founder & Director, Children’s Cause for Cancer Advocacy
Patricia Blanc  Founder of Imagine for Margo, Unite2Cure
Nicole Scobie Zoé4life, CCI Europe, Unite2Cure
 Leona Knox Research Coordinator, Solving Kids’ Cancer



Greg Reaman


Dominik Karres EMA Representative (as an observer with exclusively an advisory role – excluding advice on individual product development)
Koen Norga Paediatric Oncologist, Head of Clinic, Antwerp University Hospital, Paediatric Committee (PDCO), EMA Paediatric Expert
Alberto Pappo Member, St. Jude Faculty, Director, Solid Tumor Division, Co-Leader, Developmental Biology & Solid Tumor Program, Alvin Mauer Endowed Chair

Intuitu Personae

Jeffrey Skolnik Inovio Pharmaceuticals and The University of Pennsylvania
Raphael Rousseau Executive Vice President, Head of Development and Chief Medical Officer, Gritstone Oncology, Inc.
Peter Adamson Chair, Children’s Oncology Group, Professor of Pediatrics & Pharmacology, Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania


Darshan Wariabharaj Janssen Pharmaceuticals
Elly Barry Elly Barry, MD, MMSc, VP Clinical Development

Day One Biopharmaceuticals

Mark Kieran M.D., Ph.D., Clinical Trial Lead, Pediatrics Program, Oncology Clinical Development,

Bristol Myers Squibb

Hubert Caron MD, PhD, Principal Medical Director of Pediatric Oncology at Roche

The Steering committee will not discuss individual product developments.

For more information, please contact
You can tweet using #ACCELERATEplatform